Martin A. Samuels, MD

Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard University

Martin A. Samuels, MD, FAAN, MACP, FRCP (London); DSc (hon), is the Miriam Sydney Joseph Distinguished Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and winner of the institution's first Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching. He is the Founding Chair and Neurologist-in-Chief Emeritus at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, and former Director of the Harvard-Longwood Neurology Training Program. Board certified in both Neurology and Internal Medicine, Dr. Samuels is an internationally renowned teacher-clinician, a premier diagnostician, and a leading authority on the interface between neurology and general medicine. His major fields of expertise include neurocardiology, neurohematology, neurogastroenterology, neurohepatology, neuronephrology, and the neurologic aspects of organ transplantation. He has edited and co-written several seminal neurology textbooks, including nine editions of Samuels’s Manual of Neurologic Therapeutics and Adams and Victor’s Principles of Neurology.  He has discussed a record 12 Cabot Cases published as clinicopathologic cases in the New England Journal of Medicine. He developed a definitive instructional video on clinical neurology for practicing physicians, a video of the neurologic examination for Harrison’s Textbook of Medicine and authored numerous articles and book chapters. He was the 2006 recipient of the AB Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education and the 2007 H. Houston Merritt Award for Clinically Relevant Research, both from the American Academy of Neurology.  He was won the Lifetime Teaching Awards from both the American Academy of Neurology and the American Neurological Association.   Dr. Samuels was the Founding Editor of the NEJM Journal Watch Neurology in 1999 and served as Editor-in-Chief from 1999 to 2010.  He is an Associate Editor of the Annals of Neurology and the American Journal of Medicine.  He received a Bicentennial Medal for Distinguished Achievement from his alma mater, Williams College, and delivered the college’s convocation address in 2019.  He has received several accolades from his medical alma mater, the University of Cincinnati. These are the Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Medicine in 1996, the Charles D. Aring Lectureship from the Department of Neurology in 2000, the Daniel Drake Medal, the highest award of the College of Medicine in 2005, an honorary Doctor of Science Degree from the University in 2005 and the University’s Outstanding Alumni Award in 2019.   He received the inaugural National Distinguished Clinician Award from the Johns Hopkins Medical Institution in 2020.  He has served as Visiting Professor and Distinguished named lecturer at numerous medical schools in the United States and around the world including a lecture and award from the Japanese Society for Neurologic Therapeutics, The Colombian Neurological Society, McGill University Medical School and the Erlangen Medical School in Germany.