Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium

Date/Time: Sunday, October 4, 2020 - 12:30 PM – 2:30 PM
Track: Plenary Session
Log in to Add to My Schedule


The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium is an opportunity for young researchers to share groundbreaking research in the field of Neurology and Neuroscience.

This symposium will feature presentations from the 2020 Derek Denny-Brown awardees, the Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize and the Grass Foundation-ANA Award in Neuroscience recipients.

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award recognizes early to mid-career neurologists and neuroscientists. This award honors those neurologists and neuroscientists in the first 10 years of their career at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level who have made outstanding basic and clinical scientific advances toward the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of neurological diseases. The Honorary Membership and Awards Committee can designate up to a total of three (3) awards in any of the following three areas: Physician Scientist-Basic, Physician Scientist-Clinical, Neuroscientist-relevant to disease. 

The Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding accomplishments in teaching neurology to residents and medical students. The purpose is to encourage efforts to recognize and reward contributions by gifted and talented teachers in neurology. Each Neurology Department in the U.S. and Canada is encouraged to nominate one individual from the entire field of neurology each year.

The 2020 Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience was established in 2007 to recognize outstanding young physician scientists conducting research in basic and clinical neuroscience. The Grass Foundation was established in 1955 by Albert and Ellen Grass to advance research and education in neuroscience, with a special focus on investigators early in their careers.

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize for Identifying New Causes or Novel Treatments of Axonal Peripheral Neuropathy was established to honor outstanding investigators who identify a new cause or treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. Eligible candidates include faculty members at any stage in their career (MD, MD/PhD, or PhD) who identify either a new cause or treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. The same researcher can qualify for this award annually if s/he can demonstrate evidence of repeated success in identifying new causes or treatments for axonal peripheral neuropathy.


Aging, Lysosomes and Neurodegenerative Disease

Cerebellar Circuitry of Essential Tremor

Dietary Weight Loss May Halt Progression of Polyneuropathy in Patients With Obesity

Functional Genomics of Alzheimer's Disease

Improving the Diagnostic Precision in Autoimmune Myelopathies and Their Mimics